SoulCollage

A couple of weeks ago I participated in a Soul Collage workshop.  “What is SoulCollage?” you ask?  The SoulCollage website states, “…Originated by Seena Frost, SoulCollage® is a process for accessing your intuition and creating an incredible deck of cards with deep personal meaning that will help you with life’s questions and transitions.”  A friend of mine, who was in an Artist Way group with me, originally told me about SoulCollage.  She had taken workshops and gone away for weekends to pursue this new interest.  She fell in love with SoulCollage and has become a certified instructor/facilitator.  So, not knowing what to expect, I went to her house for a workshop.

There were 5 of us taking the workshop.  My friend had laid out lots and lots of pictures on tables around the room.  They were sorted roughly into people, places, things and animals.  We were instructed to choose 6-8 images based on what resonated with us.  We weren’t supposed to think hard about it – just choose what felt right.  Once we had our images we were given four 8″ by 5″ cards to create collages.  We were not told a right or wrong way to do this, but were to do what “felt” right.  I did my own thing and did not even glance around to see how others were approaching this task.

I created four cards, though you did not have to use them all.  Some people made only one.  On two of my cards I used a single image.  On the other two cards I used two and three images.  It was a very enjoyable process and I was pleased with how my cards turned out.  The last step of the workshop was to read our cards.  You are given a set of prompts and are meant to let whatever words come to mind flow out while someone records them.  I volunteered to “read” one of mine first.  It was surprisingly easy and the words seemed to fit the image well and felt right.

It was an interesting workshop and I plan to return again.  I still have to go back and “read” my other 3 cards.  I encourage all you creative types to google SoulCollage and read more about it.  You might find it a very fun and rewarding practice!

Leave a Reply

