Spring Has Sprung

It is a gorgeous spring day here in New England.  We are having unseasonably warm temperatures and everyone is enjoying this gift.  I thought I would look back and see if I had created any “spring-like” postcards in the past that I could repost today.  I found this one called Spring Jewel.   I have put the original description of how I created it below.  It includes glass bead medium, which caught the light when I took the photograph , and added a nice effect.  Enjoy and happy spring!

The colors of spring continue to influence my art this week.  I started this piece by pressing some green paint and gloss medium between some wax paper and then pressing it onto my card.  To this I added glass bead medium.  Once that had dried I went around the edges in black watercolor and added a red-orange accent to the middle.  I left the piece for a few hours and came back to complete it.  It needed more so I added yellow to the black around the edges trying to remove more of the remaining white.  That improved it, but as usual I still wasn’t satisfied.  The finishing touch was returning to the magenta that I used yesterday.  I took a nice and watery full brush of color and applied it to the center area.  It bled and ran just a bit and to me looked wonderful.  I added some more accents around the edges and declared it done.

3 thoughts on “Spring Has Sprung

Leave a Reply

