Color Blocks

This miniature collage started in one place and ended in another.  Another example of my art telling where it needs to go!  I began by applying a thick layer of gesso to a large postcard.  Once it was dry I drew designs on it with a water-soluble crayon and softened it with water.  Today began using watercolor to add detail to the surface.  But unfortunately I ended up with what looked like a face, and an unhappy one at that.  So, I had some tissue paper close at hand and began applying it in small pieces.  As I went along the pieces grew larger and the result much more compelling.  I love the color blocks in this and the way you can see through the layers.  It was a good start to my day and though I would love to move onto my large canvas  right now the grocery store beckons.  Ugh!

One thought on “Color Blocks

Leave a Reply

