Emerging Collage

This is a new piece that I have been slowly working on.  It is on an 18″x24″ piece of canvas-textured paper.  My technique is to find interesting patterns on magazine pages.  I tear a piece out and using matte medium I adhere it to the surface.  Then before it becomes permanent I pull it back off.  This leaves a shadow of the design and more or less traces of the color.  Sometimes I am successful and sometimes not.  It is not an exact science.  However, being collage I can always adjust for any areas that aren’t cooperating!  I’m not sure what the final outcome will be, for this piece, but I am enjoying the journey.  The muse, I’m sure, will guide me to the right place.  For now I like the soft feel of it and the pockets of interesting shapes and colors.

6 thoughts on “Emerging Collage

    • Thanks! I always have fun with this technique. The textured paper really added to this piece. I want to proceed slowly and let it come into its own.

  1. This kind of reminds me of some traditional Chinese paintings… some of those beautiful misty pieces with their unusual composition… I look forward to seeing how they progress…. had fun looking at oyur rainbow of tags as well… what a great project…xx

    • Wow! I can’t believe you actually saw the same thing i did! I saw similarities to chinese paintings just like you. You can see why I am working slowly because I want to let it emerge and not lose the fine thread that I am sensing. Thanks for stopping by. I hope you are doing the next color rainbow. I am!

Leave a Reply

