Metal Men

I found this postcard in my study.  There were a few there that I had put together a couple of years ago.  This one jumped out at me.  I am sure that I took the faces from a National Geographic magazine.  They were probably some ancient treasures from a forgotten civilization.  I am struck now, as I’m sure I was then, by the eyes.  Because the eyes were cut out they have this rather eerie quality.  On the one hand they strike me as scary.  On the other hand they seem to have a worldly-wise feeling about them  Perhaps that comes from the fact that they are old.  What did they see and what did they experience?  They look like serious  judges ready to decide someones fate.  Or maybe they seem bored and tired.  How do they appear to you?

4 thoughts on “Metal Men

Leave a Reply

