Wild Kingdom

As expected, I have not had a lot of time for art this week.  Or perhaps I should restate that.  I have not had a lot of time to pursue “my” art this week.  For the past couple of days I have been helping my daughter with a project for school.  She is doing the work and I am the assistant.  She is creating a hot air balloon out of tissue paper for her science class.  Not only must it conform to precise standards of construction, it will be judged for appearance as well.  Somehow that seems wrong to me.  It’s supposed to be about the science right – how it works not how “pretty” it is.  Oh well, she has had a good time with her concept.  She decided to use different colored panels with animals that match each one.  So far eveything has worked perfectly.  The last step for us today is to glue the panels together.  They are only supposed to overlap by 3 mm and they are quite large.  Wish us luck!

3 thoughts on “Wild Kingdom

  1. Wow, what a fun project! I agree though, it should be about the science, how it works and is put together, not how beautiful it winds up being. I think the animals on hers are darling though. Fingers crossed that it works well!

    • We have to finish it tonight. I actually dreamed about it last night which is SO strange. I’m worried about the last step, attaching some sort of collar to the bottom, so I think I had it on my mind. At least it will look good! Whether it flies or not is only worth 10 points!

Leave a Reply

