Free Form

This is a collage a put together a few years ago.  I scanned a lot of different materials and then printed pictures of the scans.  I cut out shapes based on the textures of the pieces I scanned and then built free form collages.  Then I took pictures of the collages and printed those to build additional collages and add to the originals.  I have been thinking of revisiting this project.  I’d like to modify my technique by adding cutouts that would form shadows.  I have been intrigued lately by 3D art that casts interesting shadows.  The problem I have to solve is finding a sturdy mounting base for the shapes that I can easily cut.  The outlines are often quite detailed so it needs to be a material that I can easily cut.  Any suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Free Form

Leave a Reply

