Starry Starry Night

A little glitter for the Christmas season!  I was thinking that it was almost a year ago that I started my “postcard a day” challenge.  I did not see it through but I made a lot of art.  I did a good 6-7 months before the chaotic schedule of summer made it impossible for me to stay true to my goal.  Unfortunately, after the summer I found it difficult to get back into the groove.  I haven’t decided whether to embark on that journey again.  However, I will continue to post my miniature collages as they are created  – whether that be daily or otherwise.  Today’s card started with a piece of wax paper that I had used as a palette that was covered in brown paint.  Somehow brown never works for me in these small works.  So, unhappy where it was headed I changed course.  I daubed on some blue and silver acrylic and used another card to press and swirl the paint.  I used a corner to draw some random lines and then pressed and swirled some more.  Once it had dried I coated it with water and applied some India ink.  I used a straw to blow it around and cover the surface.  Finally I added a splash of glitter for good measure.  I reminds me of a cold winters night sprinkled with glittering stars.

Leave a Reply

