Self Portrait Challenge

Here is my entry for the self portrait challenge on Linda Halcomb’s Blog.  Below is the original description from when I first posted it on 9/8.

It is done on a watercolor postcard in cray-pas.  I started with the color blue as I love that color and started to draw curvy lines because I love shapes that move and swirl.  I added green as that is also a favorite color.  The those colors and the swirls made me think of the ocean.  I grew up very close to the ocean and hate to be far from it.  I don’t think I could live happily in a state that didn’t have a coast.  I added a yellow center, sort of the sun and brightness and then added bits of red.  I like the color red but it also represents the fiery Irish in me that sometimes surfaces!  Then I started thinking about Autumn.  I love Autumn and so I drew in a bare tree on the right side and began adding fall colors to the bottom to represent leaves that had fallen.  I was swirling the orange and a pumpkin-like shape appeared.  The center looked almost like a rainbow so I added purple.  Who doesn’t like rainbows?  I smoothed the entire piece with a white cray-pas to soften and blend the colors together.  The “sky” portion looked a bit lonely so I added a bit of color.  I thought of all the sunsets I’ve enjoyed over the years.  And there you have it.  A piece of me  – not recognizable – but “me” just the same!

5 thoughts on “Self Portrait Challenge

  1. I am so glad you joined our challenge with your autumnal self, Kathleen. I am totally drawn into the swirls of this piece with your warm red in the lower left corner that really looks like your heart, open to all.

    • Thanks Leslie. I guess mine rather stands out and apart, but hey, somebody had to go there! It’s certainly in keeping with the way I work. I will have to try my hand at a real likeness though. 🙂

  2. aloha Kathleen – i think your words are clearly a self portrait. i like following your mind path. it allows me to glimpse something about the way you think. seeing the visual of your words becomes an inner view of you, imo. i like that. in fact your process in this can easily be the concept for future self portrait projects as i see it. way cool.

    • Thanks Rick. I felt that since it wasn’t an actual likeness of “me” I should try to explain the path I went down to get there. Your comment about doing future ones got me to thinking. I feel like maybe I should do them periodically and see how they vary and evolve. Thanks for the cool idea!

      • yeah, i dont feel like it’s an explanation as much as a showing of path – altho it is of course explanation too. i see it as interpretation as much as explanation as well i think… and yes, doing this every so often – yeah! i like that idea too. i suspect you might get slice sections of life in that moment each time you do one – wow that is a great idea, imo.

        i like the idea of building work toward a showing over time this way. i like the idea of building work all out of the same time period too, but this periodic returning to a concept idea appeals to me as well. …that’s probably because i’m learning that i work this way, returning to ideas, exploring other ideas in between workings and so on. . . by itself it’s one work. but when they are placed together it becomes a strong body of work around one concept. i like that.

Leave a Reply

