Reaching through the Void

I got the idea for this miniature from my friend Linda Halcomb and she found it on a blog somewhere.  The idea is to lay down washes of color, draw a design, and paint in the negative space.  I cheated by using a piece of an old, large watercolor as my base.  I traced my hand and then painted in the negative space.  It was not nearly as magical as Linda’s but I liked the effect and will have to try a larger rendering starting from scratch.  As it is, I like the transparency of this piece and the feeling that something unknown is just out of reach.

 

2 thoughts on “Reaching through the Void

  1. Thank you for mentioning my work. I really like your painting. I love the way our thoughts can take us places! And we all read different things into each piece like this…

Leave a Reply

