Buffalo Ghosts Night and Day

I started this piece with a magazine scrap off my desk.  I brushed some matte medium onto it, placed it on the base, and then pulled it off before it could fully dry.  I like the way that this technique leaves part of the paper and sometimes color behind.  It gives an interesting, aged texture.  I did this a few times with the goal of covering the surface.  But as I looked at the scrap of paper, to find a new pace to apply the matte medium, I was fascinated by the design on the scrap.  The shapes left behind reminded me of buffalo heads or skulls.  So, I tore the sheet in half and glued my “buffalo” heads down.  I like that the backgrounds for the two shapes are light and dark – like night and day.  Hence, Buffalo Ghosts Night and Day.  Though most of my miniature collages are designed vertically, every so often one just has to go horizontally.  This is one.

4 thoughts on “Buffalo Ghosts Night and Day

Leave a Reply

