Wood Spirits Trapped in Time

I have always been fascinated by objects that are old and worn.  I went through a phase of photographing aged things which often included peeling paint.  The base of this piece is a photograph I took during that period.  To it I have added the faces.  These are wooden cherub sculptures that actually have wings.  They are my sister’s and I photographed them at her farm.  When I removed the wings they reminded me of spirits and seemed to mesh well with the old wooden background.  They didn’t look happy so I had the feeling that they were trapped – trapped in time.  A big thunder boomer is starting and I have to go watch.  I LOVE thunderstorms!

3 thoughts on “Wood Spirits Trapped in Time

Leave a Reply

