Man in Top Hat

Okay, so I was going to call this the coffee jitters.  The pattern looked very jittery to me – like after you’ve had too much caffeine.  But, the funny thing is, I saw a man with a beard and a top hat in the pattern.  I won’t even try to explain how I see it.  I’m sure I’ll probably be the only one.  But, what can I say.  I took black construction paper and glued it to my base.  From there I put a thin layer of gold acrylic on a piece of wax paper.  I pressed a piece of tulle into the gold paint and pressed it onto the construction paper.  Repeat, repeat, repeat.  I would have gone further, but when that guy showed up I didn’t want to tell him he had to go.  So, there you have it.  Man in Top Hat.  Can YOU see him?!

 

3 thoughts on “Man in Top Hat

    • Wow – that’s great! I thought I would be the only one to see him. I’ve never tried to bring an image like that forward, but I think I will give it a try. Thanks for the inspiration!

      • I’m thinking it could be a work in progress like your other paintings. Go with one layer at a time. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Remember the artist that painted “The Scream”? Can’t remember his name right now. His figures were different. Painting like you like to paint and use media, I think you could find all sorts of images that you could pull forward. You could always take photos of your progress and look at them, later. Sometimes, I should stop before I do on some of mine.

Leave a Reply

