Grab What You Can Reach!

That’s what I did to create today’s postcard.  Literally just items in easy reach.  I started with a magazine scrap cut out yesterday.  To that I added two scrap pieces of wax paper.  Then I glued down some matte medium peelings from my table.  I had a spool of orangey thread that I grabbed and wrapped around the postcard.  To try to unite the whole thing I took a bit of gold acrylic and matte medium and painted over everything.  That didn’t do much, so I did it again using black acrylic.  That worked better.  Then I glued down a very thin scrap of magazine I found at hand.  Lastly, while it was still wet, I painted into some of the areas formed by the thread with black watercolor.

 

14th Fountain Street Open Studios Weekend April 9 – 11, 2010. Friday 6:00 – 9:00 pm. Saturday/Sunday 11am – 5 pm.  Come view my postcards and other artwork in person while experiencing our 100 year old building.  I look forward to seeing you there.  For details visit www.fountainstreetstudios.com/openartist.html .

3 thoughts on “Grab What You Can Reach!

    • It’s interesting how some days the work just flow and works. Other days the result is debatable. This one I liked!

  1. Pingback: Hello world! « love pinks carnation

Leave a Reply

