More is Better

There were so many steps to this card.  I started by gluing down scraps of newspaper.  The newspaper was covered by tracing paper with a black rubbing on it.  From there I moved to watercolor.  First some black applied in a watery wash to dull down the colors.  Then I added the wax paper shapes with the black ink.  I went back to watercolor and traced those with crimson and then starting adding yellow around the edges.  The finishing touch was the yellow tulle which coalesced all of the elements.  For some reason it has a map like quality to me.

 

14th Fountain Street Open Studios Weekend April 9 – 11, 2010. Friday 6:00 – 9:00 pm. Saturday/Sunday 11am – 5 pm.  Come view my postcards and other artwork in person while experiencing our 100 year old building.  I look forward to seeing you there.  For details visit www.fountainstreetstudios.com/openartist.html .

4 thoughts on “More is Better

    • It’s amazing. I take the techniques I use on these postcards and take them to my larger artwork. It tests me some days to come up with new ideas, but it’s a great way to get going.

  1. Before I ever started reading this, I thought how much this piece looked like a map. How surprised I was when you said the same thing.

    I found your blog on CED and love your art. It is so layered and lovely. I have bookmarked it and will be back soon.

    • That’s amazing! I just visited your site and had a wonderful time exploring all of the different art categories of yours and seeing all the ways you express yourself. It was facinating and fun. I LOVE all the different works that involve hands. Hands, doors, and windows always intrigue me. Thanks for stopping by and I’ll be sure to visit your site often.

Leave a Reply

