Cheesecloth Watercolor Rainbow

Doing this card was a real pleasure.  When I sat down today I remembered that I had bought some cheesecloth yesterday to use in my mixed media work.  I decided to play with it a little.  I cut some and glued it to the postcard with heavy gel medium.  I left for the middle of the day and it was dry when I got back.  I did a little doodling on it with sharpie but that wasn’t doing it for me.  I decided to play with some watercolor.  I had a palette with some watercolor s on it and decide to use what I had available.  When I started I thought that I had made a mistake but as I continued to add color I liked it more and more.  I kept working it a bit at a time working with washes, light and dark, and with finer lines as well.  In some areas there was enough water that the color ran a bit through the cheesecloth which was interesting.  I finally got to a point where I was quite happy with the appearance so here it is.  A rainbow for your St. Patrick’s Day!

One thought on “Cheesecloth Watercolor Rainbow

Leave a Reply

