Twisted Path to Inner Vision

I had in my mind today that I wanted to use a spiral, though I’m not sure why.  I think I was thinking about a page I did in an altered book that had a spiral.  So I grabbed a page from a magazine and tore it into a spiral.  It had blue on it so I painted the postcard blue and stuck the spiral to the wet paint.  I had found a page filled with eyes and thought adding one to the center of the spiral would be interesting.  The entire piece was louder than I wanted so I took some of the blue mixed with matte medium and painted over the surface, streaking the paint and softening it a little.  It still wasn’t where I wanted it to be so I took some gold acrylic mixed with matte medium and painted over the dry surface.  Then I felt it was “done”.  I love the eye.  It’s sort of mysterious or even eerie.  Like the card is looking back at you!  I liked the idea that if you follow the spiral you can find inner vision.  Because if you think about it  knowledge is never found on a straight,  clear path.

One thought on “Twisted Path to Inner Vision

Leave a Reply

